Congratulations to the 2015 National and Regional Author winners!

National Author Winner

Marianne Boruch

Boruch, photo # 3 by Will DunlapMarianne Boruch’s eight poetry collections include “Cadaver, Speak” (2014)and “The Book of Hours” (2011), a Kingsley-Tufts Poetry Award winner, both from Copper Canyon Press which will publish her “Eventually One Dreams the Real Thing” in 2016. She is also the author of two essay collections, “In the Blue Pharmacy” (Trinity, 2005) and “Poetry’s Old Air” (Michigan, 1993), and a memoir, “The Glimpse Traveler” (Indiana, 2011) about hitchhiking in the early 70s.  Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry, The New York Review of Books, American Poetry Review, London Review of Books, Ploughshares, The Nation and elsewhere. Two of her poems have been chosen for Best American Poetry and four have received Pushcart Prizes.

Twice a National Endowment for the Arts Fellow, Boruch also received a Guggenheim Fellowship and artist residencies at the Rockefeller Foundation’s Bellagio Center, Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, the Anderson Center (Red Wing, MN), Denali National Park in Alaska and at Isle Royale, our most isolated national park. Purdue gave her its University Research and Scholarship Distinction Award (2014), the College of Liberal Arts’ Discovery Excellence Award (2013) and a 2008 Faculty Fellowship in the Study of a Secondary Area to observe dissections in the so-called “cadaver lab” of the IU Medical School on Purdue’s campus and take a course in life drawing, the source of many poems in her recent “Cadaver, Speak.”

Boruch has received numerous English Department teaching awards and the 2007 College of Liberal Arts’ Educational Excellence Award. A 2012 Fulbright/Visiting Professor in Scotland’s University of Edinburgh, she is a Professor of English at Purdue and was the founding Director of the MFA Program in Creative Writing in which she still teaches and, since 1988, has been semi-regularly on faculty at the low-residency Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College. She has taught at summer conferences such as Bread Loaf and Bear River. For nearly 30 years, she and her husband, David Dunlap, have lived in West Lafayette where they raised their son.

Regional Author Winner

Adrian Matejka

MatejkaAdrian Matejka is a graduate of Pike High School in Indianapolis and Indiana University in Bloomington. He earned his MFA in creative writing at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. His first collection of poems, “The Devil’s Garden,” won the 2002 New York / New England Award from Alice James Books. His second collection, “Mixology,” was a winner of the 2008 National Poetry Series and was also a finalist for a NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literature – Poetry. His most recent book, “The Big Smoke,” was awarded the 2014 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. “The Big Smoke” was also a finalist for the 2013 National Book Award, the 2014 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award and the 2014 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. He is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the Lannan Foundation and currently serves as the Lilly Professor /Poet-in-Residence at Indiana University in Bloomington.

Click here to read the biographies of the 2015 Emerging Author Finalists!


Congratulations to the past winners of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. These authors represent some of the best that Indiana literature has to offer and are truly deserving of recognition.

Click here for a complete list of all winners and finalists.

Click here for a complete list of all public library grant recipients.

BOOK CLUB information

The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award offers a number of ways for book clubs to get involved.



The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports library programs and services throughout Marion County.


featured SPONSORS

Sponsorships are available for the 2015 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award!


Major Sponsors Include: