Top authors named, Glicks remembered at 2014 Indiana Authors Award event

Three authors with Indiana ties were honored at this weekend’s 2014 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award annual dinner. Michael Shelden was recognized as National Author Winner, Norbert Krapf was recognized as Regional Author Winner, and Kelsey Timmerman was announced as the Emerging Author Winner from a pool of three finalists. Event guests also remembered the couple who created the Indiana Authors Award – Eugene and Marilyn Glick – with a special tribute. The Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund.


Regional Author winner Norbert Krapf, National Author winner Michael Shelden and Emerging Author winner Kelsey Timmeran with Marianne Glick.

In addition to a cash prize, each winner’s Indiana hometown public library will receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation. Since the Award’s inception in 2009, selected authors have won a total of $135,000, and the authors’ hometown libraries have received $47,500 in grants.

“Indiana has such a rich literary heritage,” said Marianne Glick. “We are proud that The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award recognizes, encourages and inspires Indiana writers.”

Selected winners were chosen by a 10-member statewide panel based on specific criteria:

  • National Author – $10,000 prize: A writer with Indiana ties, whose work is known and read throughout the country. National authors were evaluated on their entire body of work. Winner: Michael Shelden
  • Regional Author – $7,500 prize: A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana. Regional authors were evaluated on their entire body of work. Winner: Norbert Krapf
  • Emerging Author – $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years. Emerging authors were evaluated on these specific works. Winner: Kelsey Timmerman

“Indiana has a tradition of cultivating talented authors, which is clearly demonstrated by this year’s winners and finalists,” said Danny R. Dean, president of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. “We’re grateful for the continued generosity of The Glick Fund and the Glick family, as well the support of our sponsors and Award Panel.”

Nominations for the 2015 Indiana Authors Award open Feb. 2, 2015.

2014 finalists: Jessica Brockmole and Clifford Garstang.  


Congratulations to all of the past  winners and finalists for the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. These authors represent some of the best that Indiana literature has to offer, and are truly deserving of recognition.

Click here for a full list of all winners and finalists.

BOOK CLUB information

The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award offers a number of ways for book clubs to get involved.



The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports library programs and services throughout Marion County.


featured SPONSORS

Sponsorships are available for the 2015 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award!


Major Sponsors Include: