Two Winners Named for 2013 Indiana Authors Award

Authors Michael Martone and James H. Madison to receive national and regional awards from Library Foundation 

A $10,000 National Author prize awarded by the Eugene and Marilyn Glick 2013 Indiana Authors Award will go to Hoosier author Michael Martone. James H. Madison has been named the Regional Author winner, earning him a $7,500 prize. The National and Regional winners, along with finalists in the Emerging Author category, will be honored at the fifth-annual Indiana Authors Award Dinner Oct. 26, 2013, at the Central Library in Indianapolis.

“There was never a time in my 40 years of writing that I have not written about Indiana. My readers outside the state are always amazed to discover this baffling and beautiful land in my stories,” said Martone. “And, look at this, the old home surprises me again with this gift of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award. I am profoundly grateful.”

This annual award program recognizes Indiana authors’ contributions to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation and is funded through the generosity of The Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation.

Nominations were submitted from across the state in early spring. Any published writer who was born in Indiana or has lived in Indiana for at least five years was eligible. An eight-member, statewide Award Panel selected the National and Regional winners and the three Emerging Author finalists from the pool of publicly nominated authors. Below are the qualifications for each category:

  • National Author – $10,000 prize: A writer with Indiana ties, but whose work is known and read throughout the country. National authors are evaluated on their entire body of work. This award recipient will also designate a $2,500 grant for the public library of his or her choosing.

2013 winner: Michael Martone

  • Regional Author – $7,500 prize: A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana. Regional authors were evaluated on their entire body of work. This award recipient will also designate a $2,500 grant for the public library of his or her choosing.

2013 winner: James H. Madison

  • Emerging Author – $5,000 prize: A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. The title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years.  Emerging authors were evaluated on these specific works. Once chosen, the award recipient will designate a $2,500 grant for the public library of his or her choosing. The Emerging Author winner will be named at the Oct. 26 Award Dinner.

2013 finalists: Tricia FieldsMike Mullin and Kelsey Timmerman

Individual and full table tickets are available for the Award Dinner. Funds raised at the Dinner will benefit the Library Foundation.

The public is also invited to participate in the free 2013 Indy Author Fair  - which will include author talks and workshops for writers and book lovers of all ages, led by faculty of the Indiana Writers Center and other special guests.


About The Glick Fund: The Glick Fund was established by Gene and Marilyn Glick to support a variety of causes in central Indiana. In addition to establishing the Indiana Authors Award with The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, Glick charitable funds have invested substantially in Indiana educational institutions, arts organizations, hospitals and the Pro-100 program, a leadership program for underprivileged youth. Recent grant recipients include the Indiana Historical Society Living History Center, the Indianapolis Cultural Trail and the Glick Eye Institute at the Indiana University School of Medicine.

About the Library Foundation: The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports and enhances programs, services, and facilities of The Indianapolis Public Library and its partnerships in lifelong learning initiatives that benefit a diverse community. Through advocacy, fundraising and stewardship, the Library Foundation supports numerous Library initiatives to enhance patrons’ lives, including early literacy programs, homework assistance, workforce development and technologies, including a variety of online library resources. The Foundation works to support these initiatives, making educational opportunities available free of charge to all Library patrons. “Like” the Indiana Authors Award on Facebook and follow us at @INAuthorsAward. #IAA2013

Be the first to comment.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

BOOK CLUB information

The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award offers a number of ways for book clubs to get involved.



The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports library programs and services throughout Marion County.


featured SPONSORS

Sponsorships are available for the 2016 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award!


Major Sponsors Include: